The Council of the European Union on Friday renewed the so-called EU terrorist list, which sets out persons, groups and entities that are subject to restrictive measures by the European Union.

Fourteen individuals and 21 groups and entities are on that list. They are subject to asset freezing in the EU. It is also prohibited that EU operators make funds and resources available to them.

The list was first drawn up in 2001 and is reviewed regularly, at least every six months.  

This sanctions regime is separate from that established by the United Nations targeting Al-Qaida and ISIS/Daesh.

The so-called Common position 2001/931/CFSP lays down the criteria for listing persons, groups and entities. Restrictive measures are those related to freezing of funds and financial assets and measures related to police and judicial cooperation.

List of terrorist organisations and individuals subject to EU measures