In focus

view more

EU Watch videos


The foreign policy of the European Union in a nutshell

There are four major EU institutions involved in foreign policy decision-making: the Council (which brings together government ministers of the 27 member states), the European Commission, the European Parliament and the European External Action Service (EEAS) which is headed by the High Representative for Foreign and Security Policy (HRVP).

The HRVP (currently the Spaniard Josep Borrell) is appointed by the European Council (heads of government of the EU member states) for a term of usually five years. Ex officio, he is also a member of the European Commission, of which he is a vice-president.The HRVP also chairs meetings of the Foreign Affairs Council and as such has a leading role in two EU institutions, which is unique. The HRVP heads the European External Action Service (EEAS), which is the diplomatic service of the European Union. The EEAS manages EU delegations in third countries and prepares proposals for decisions and actions.

Decision-making on foreign policy is slightly different than in other policy areas. According to Article 27 of the Treaty (the EU constitution), the “Council shall act on a proposal from the High Representative [of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy], after consulting the European Parliament and after obtaining the consent of the Commission.” This means that the Parliament cannot veto any decisions on foreign policy, it is merely consulted and can adopt non-binding resolutions.

Graph2 for website final
Do you want to learn more about EU's foreign policy? CLICK HERE

EU Watch foreign policy desk


Over the past weeks, in response to the war against Ukraine, EU foreign policy has undergone dramatic and rapid transformation. Sweeping sanctions against Russia were adopted, arms supplies to Ukraine approved and a more “robust” diplomacy was adopted. What will be the impact? Will this be the template for a new EU foreign policy? What will it mean for other conflict zones, like the Middle East, or for the EU’s relations with China and the United States?

EU Watch wants to encourage debate and provide relevant information and insight into EU decision-making. We are thrilled to announce the launch of our Foreign Policy Desk. This will be a new hub for experts. Our aim is to guarantee high-level qualitative analysis while delivering information in a poignant manner: not with academic jargon, but first-hand knowledge and an open mind.

Our first activities will focus on the Persian Gulf region, in particular on Iran. Whilst major international powers, including the EU, are currently locked in critical negotiations with Iran on its nuclear programme, there has been a noticeable lack of information and discussion on the topic. EU Watch firmly believes it is essential to enhance analysis and debate because, as we have seen in recent weeks, it can be about war and peace.

Our new Foreign Policy Desk will offer information, expert briefings, reports, podcasts with decision-makers, analysts and other relevant players. We want to serve as a hub for experts from Europe and other areas to scrutinize how the European Union acts on the international stage. We will ask: What red lines does the EU impose when dealing with aggressive states? And how does it enforce these red lines? What instruments does the EU have at its disposal? And does it favour doing business over protecting its citizens against attacks?

Recent events and actions

processed 490f3041 4cf2 410a b7db ae574609ba20 zXcHlgV2 3 3
Migration and Integration
Free speech under attack
Gulf Futures Forum

About us

We are a group of EU citizens who trust in the potential of the European Union.
We support the values and principles of the European Union and want to ensure that they are respected in everyday decision-making.

We focus on :

How EU decisions are reached

How the EU’s decisions are put into practice

How EU decisions and actions are assessed

EU Watch aims to uphold and defend the values of the European Union. It will scrutinize if and how those values are applied in practice.
How? Not by lobbying or advocating particular policies, but by promoting understanding and debate about the values at stake in any given issue.
read more

EU Watch on Twitter

Who is the Brussels EU Quarter’s pro-Putin cyclist?

A @POLITICOEurope investigation

“A draft law modelled on Vladimir Putin’s restrictive regime for media and non-governmental organisations has aroused popular anger in #Georgia and raised fears it could derail the country’s aspirations to join the EU and NATO.” @FT

On 14 March, a judge will decide whether Belgian magistrate Michel Claise, who is investigating the #Qatargate scandal surrounding the European Parliament, should be taken off the case.

Load More